CosRX Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence

My introduction to AB skincare started when I was in my teens and my mom purchased stuff from the Shiseido Pureness line to help control my acne. I used it on and off and saw a dermatologist in between. But my first on my own as an adult AB purchase is this — the CosRX Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (what is it with AB skincare and their really long names??).

In my sister’s recent bridal shower, my aunts (who are all into anti-aging and anything beautifying), they asked me, after asking to see my skincare stash, to choose one product and one product alone. Without batting an eyelash, I chose this. They were pretty surprised because it’s snail goo. Who willingly buys and puts snail mucus on her face?? I do! And here’s why:

Packaging:

It comes in a matte plastic bottle with a pump type dispenser.

LRM_EXPORT_20170405_103233white_wm
This sleek looking bottle contains 100ml of 96% snail goo and a little goes a long way!

The Product:

Snail goo or snail mucin is known to have wonderful healing and moisturizing properties. As snails crawl, they naturally excrete mucin to protect themselves from scratches and at the same time heal their bodies aaaand all the snails I’ve been seeing have plump and well hydrated bodies 😂. The mucin repairs damaged tissues and restores hydration so it’s used to treat dry skin, wrinkles, acne scars, etc.

According to the box, the Cosrx Advanced Snail Mucin Power Essence is a “Real Power Essence raising the innate strength of the skin”. It protects skin from moisture loss and keeps skin smooth, and healthy without the use of heavy oils.

COSRX_ADVANCED_SNAIL_96_MUCIN_POWER_ESSENCE_100ml_sub1
Source: jolse.com

So it claims to boost skin energy, improve damaged skin, calm skin and help improve skin elasticity, and provide hydration.

Its 12 Paraben-free Ingredients: 

96% (!!!) Snail Secretion Filtrate, Betaine, Butylene Glycol (accdg to CosDNA, this ingredients registers 1 out of 9 in acne), 1,2-Hexanediol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Panthenol, Arginine, Allantoin, Ethyl Hexanediol, Sodium Polycrylate, Carbomer(accdg to CosDNA, this ingredients registers 1 out of 9 in irritants), Phenoxyethanol

Suited for: all skin types

How and when to use (accdg to my CosRX info sheet): Snail filtrate requires enough patting to get completely absorbed. Best if used before or after mask.

Texture:

As soon as you dispense the product on your fingers, you can immediately feel that it has A LOT of snail mucin. It’s slimy, slippery, and stringy.

LRM_EXPORT_20170405_103258white_wm
Just look at that gooey, slimy goodness! 😍

Please excuse my vein-y hand lol! But as you can see, it spreads easily. Just pat away and it’s absorbed rather quickly.

Results:

Before applying it on my hand, its moisture level was at 47.9% and 21.5% oil. After patting the essence in, both water and oil levels went up!

I’ve been using this for over a year now and am now on my third bottle. Some might have consumed more given the same time period but I alternated it with the CosRX All in One Snail Cream just to see the difference (that’s a whole ‘nother post).

I use this sometimes in the mornings when i have nowhere to be and I’ve also tried using this under makeup but there are times that it pills. Weird. Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn’t. When I went to Japan and it was around 5 degrees, I applied this everyday because I could feel my face tightening up from the cold weather and even applied it under makeup where it didn’t pill! I guess my skin was just so thirsty for hydration during my trip that it soaked it all up.

I also use this every night before I sheet mask or before I apply my PM moisturizer. I use about 2 pumps at night because I also apply it on my neck (don’t neglect your neck in your routines ladies!). I wake up with soft skin that feels so hydrated! My acne scars heal faster and whenever I touch my neck, the skin is so much softer now. It looks more hydrated too.

I actually put this on my husband one night and just forcefully applied it on his face and the next day, he noticed that the dry patches on his skin were gone! Since then, I’ve been grudgingly sharing the essence with him.

Buuut….

YMMV — your mileage may vary meaning just coz it worked great on me doesn’t mean it will on you. We all have different skin types and sensitivities and it’s important to always patch test before you go full face.

Where to Buy?

One of the best things about CosRX is that their products are very reasonably priced! In the Philippines, there are a lot of buying services that won’t charge you an arm and a leg. Among my favorites are SkinKraves, RRKoreanShop, Dara Beauty Market, The Skin Care Curator, etc. Internationally, there are also a lot of online stores that carry these — Jolse, Althea, SokoGlam, RoseRoseShop, TesterKorea, and soooo much more! So go do yourself a favor and grab your snail go now.

Rating:

5/5

Leave a Reply

