Skin & Lab Red Serum

I had been wanting to try a face oil and since my sister’s skin has improved with the Kiehl’s MRC, I wanted to try it as well. But it’s so damn expensive and I just knew that there is an AB dupe somewhere out there.

I like trying out makeup and skincare dupes (duplicates). Whether it’s an Asian dupe for a popular Western product or a cheaper dupe to a popular expensive product. One of those “dupes” is the Skin&Lab Red Serum which is said to be a dupe to the popular Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate so when I saw that Althea carried this product and sold it the cheapest (Php 880 or approximately $18), I immediately placed an order.

LRM_EXPORT_20170625_171258white_wm

Here is the Red Serum in its bright red packaging. My box got a bit mushed in transit but hey, at least there weren’t any spills!

LRM_EXPORT_20170625_171757white_wm

Like most serums out there, it comes in a glass bottle  (beautiful red bottle too!) with a dropper. The pipette is glass as well and easily picks up and dispenses the product.

koreacosmetic-skincare-serum-skinnlab-redserum-wishtrend.com_02

The serum has 5 claims:

  • Skin brightening
  • Antioxidant effects
  • Skin firming
  • Soothing
  • Balancing oil and moisture

Apparently, according to their marketing materials, with consistent use (as with any product in order to see results), its ingredients activate healthy skin rhythm with powerful antioxidant activities and skin protective actions, resulting to perfect (wow, huge claims!), beautifully radiant, younger looking skin.

koreacosmetic-skincare-serum-skinnlab-redserum-wishtrend.com_09

As you can see, it has a lot of berries (red berries too hence the name), fruit extracts, and yes, it even has my favorite Niacinamide!

red_serum_eng

Now on to the product!

17-06-25-18-15-44-879_decowhite_wm

The serum smells so good! I can smell the jasmine in it and it actually reminds me of the scent of the Kiehl’s MRC oil! Now I haven’t tried the Kiehl’s one yet (I shall be trying it out after I finish this bottle) so I can’t really compare if it’s a dupe for it but they smell the same!

Texture wise, this one feels more like an oil than a serum. It glides over your skin like oil but doesn’t feel heavy. It leaves a light layer over the skin but it isn’t sticky and it also gives your skin that sheen you get from oils.

17-06-25-18-16-52-167_decowhite_wm
Moisture levels before applying the serum and after 3-4 minutes

The product is mainly for whitening and wrinkle care. Wrinkle care in my opinion, is mostly prevention and improving your overall skin texture. If your skin is more elastic and supple, then texture wise, it won’t wrinkle so much because it’s well moisturized and well hydrated.

Results? My skin has brightened after more than a month’s use but that can also be because of all the other skin brightening products I use. So what did this serum do for me? It made my skin plump. I can’t really say my wrinkles lessened because I don’t have major ones or sagging skin other than fine lines under my eyes and those around my mouth which you get from smiling or talking, etc. But with my skin feeling more plump, I did notice that the texture has improved.

As with all the serums, toners, and moisturizers I apply on my face, I extend the application to my neck as well and wipe whatever leftover product I have on my hands to my elbows and arms. I noticed a big improvement on the texture on my neck because I had only started doing this recently. Yes, I’m guilty of having neglected my neck for how many years but I’m trying to make up for it.

Would I repurchase? I’m actually tempted to just give my Kiehl’s MRC oil to my sister and repurchase this but curiosity is getting the better of me. I will be trying the Kiehl’s after this (if I can hold on to that curiosity) then decide. The Kiehl’s better show HG level of results because this Red Serum is just a third of the price!

Leave a Reply

