Benton Papaya D-Suncream

When I was younger, I didn’t care much for putting on sunscreen. I only remembered to apply it whenever I’d go to the beach. Then I got freckles. And more freckles. Then I started putting on sunscreen on a daily basis.

I have always been partial to Japanese sunscreens over Korean ones because the former usually came in SPF 50 PA++++ while the latter usually had SPF 38 PF+++. Not all Korean sunscreens were like that though. There were a few brands that had SPF 50 but since I’m usually hoarding Japanese sunscreens, I had quite a few more in my stash so there was really no urgency to try new ones since I was happy with what I had.

When Benton announced that they were looking for testers for their new sunscreen, I immediately signed up and surprise, surprise, I was chosen to be one of those who would be sent the product to try out and review! My review of course and opinions are all my own and it is in now way affected by Benton.

 

about_en

You may or may not be familiar with Benton but it’s a Korean skincare brand that was apparently inspired by the movie The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. The brand’s goal is to restore skin back to its healthy condition using healthy ingredients rather than give immediate but temporary effects with harmful ingredients.

Among its popular products are their snail bee products, aloe bha toner (which is hydrating and so gentle on the skin btw), and their fermentation eye cream (which I will review soon) and essence.

It’s actually good to know that the brand produces their products in small batches to ensure that the products we get are all freshly made products. Aaaaaand they are cruelty-free ❤️

LRM_EXPORT_20170703_131231white_wm

This beauty right here is Benton’s newest and first ever sunscreen or suncream as they call it. It comes in a 50g tube type similar to those Anessa sunscreens I love so I’s very handy and can easily be carried around.

Benton recommends this for the following skin types:

  • skin exposed to various UVs
  • dull skin lacking suppleness
  • skin that wants a moist sunscreen
  • skin that wants protection from both UVA and UVB filters
  • skin that wants a sunscreen with a minimal white cast

 

Ingredients:

Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Water(55%), Titanium Dioxide, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Isoamyl p-Methoxycinnamate, Glycerin, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Pentylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Glyceryl Stearate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Aluminum Hydroxide, Panthenol, Carica Papaya Seed Oil(5000ppm), Glyceryl Caprylate, Stearic Acid, Water, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Xanthan Gum, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract(750ppm), Tocopherol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate,Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Xylitylglucoside, Anhydroxylitol, Xylitol, Papain(100ppm), Propanediol, Adenosine, Sodium Gluconate, Disodium Adenosine Triphosphate, Algin, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Bud Extract, Glucose, Juniperus Communis Fruit Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Oil

Among its notable ingredients are:

  • 55% Carica Papaya fruit water – Since I live in a tropical country, I am very much familiar with papaya. There are A LOT of whitening prodcuts in the market that use papaya but more importantly, I love eating it! It’s rich in vitamins and contains polyphenols, minerals, and papain. Christopher Columbus even called it the fruit of the angels because it’s so yummy!
  • Carica Papaya seed oil – this papaya seed oil helps make skin supple, smooth, and helps our skin retain moisture
  • Papain – What I know about papain (from my culinary school days) is that it is used as a natural meat tenderizer because its enzymes help break down protein. So I’m not really surprised that when applied to skin care products, it is effective in pore care, sebum control and a natural exfoliator
  • Niacinamide – yes, one of my favorites. It helps with pigmentation, acne, and wrinkles.
  • Adenosine – ahhhhh, the mother of all anti-aging ingredients. It helps with pigmentation, wrinkles, and collagen production.

giphy.gif

It’s also important to note that this “sunscream” is BOTH a physical and chemical sunscreen so it effectively protects the skin from everyday UVs and external stressors. But what’s the difference?

  • Physical sunscreen
    • protects your skin from the sun by deflecting or blocking the sun’s rays. The UV filter used here are titanium dioxide and/or zinc oxide. There are some who breakout from titanium dioxide and if you do, then look for those that use zinc oxide instead since this is safer and is even used in diaper rash creams!
    • Titanium dioxide protects against UVB rays, but not the full spectrum of UVA rays while zinc oxide protects against the entire spectrum of UVB and UVA rays.
    • These physical sunscreens tend to leave a white cast (think Coppertone LOL!)

 

  • Chemical sunscreen
    • Chemical sunscreens work by absorbing the sun’s rays. Some chemical filters can scatter sun rays, but still mostly just absorb them. I’ve underlined the chemical sunscreens used above so just refer to that. Chemical filters offer more coverage against UVA and UVB rays than physical sunscreens, but the range of protection will depend on the particular active and its stability
    • They have a tendency to make your eyes sting and water if they get in your eyes. I’m reminded by one of my favorite sunscreens which I gave to my husband and it made his eyes sting so bad he had to wash his face then returned it to me.
    • These chemical sunscreens are colorless, odorless, and usually runny. It can also sometimes double as a makeup primer, depending on the active and the formulation.

With these ingredients, not only does it protect you from the sun, but also gives you better complexion at the same time!

17-07-01-15-02-15-605_decowhite_wm

I’ve been using this suncream for since I got it and I can honestly say that I like it! First, it smells like lemons and as it gets absorbed by your skin, the lemon fades and you can smell that scent that most physical sunscreens have except it’s not as strong and for some reason, this smells sweeter then it just fades altogether.

Benton did say that this has a light and moist texture. The moist part, yes. The light part? I’m not so sure. I’m used to my sunscreens being the same consistency as the Biore or Anessa sunscreen where it feels like a watery gel so when I first squeezed product out of the tube and it wasn’t as gel-ish, I had my doubts. It feels more like a cream so I was a bit put off by the texture because I was expecting Biore-consistency. But hey, they did call it SunCREAM. It has a white cast since it’s part physical sunscreen, but it’s very minimal.

When I gave it time to absorb, the tacky feeling mostly disappeared (I could only feel about 5% tackiness) and I proceeded to apply my makeup. The first time I used makeup over this, I didn’t take too much notice of how the makeup looks because all freshly applied makeup look good. I just took note that it did not cake up or pill under my cushion. After a couple of hours though when I got home, I checked the mirror and my makeup still looks great! It has settled and blended with my skin but more importantly, it wasn’t shiny or oily all over. It had the right dewy spots that look natural and gave my skin a healthy looking glow. I used it the succeeding days and used it under a BB cream and a different cushion and the results are the same. My makeup stays longer and looks better.

The only downside for me? I wish it had a higher SPF and a higher PA rating. Yes, yes, I know. The SPF doesn’t have to be 50 because you’d still have to reapply your sunscreen after 2-3 hours and it doesn’t have to have 4 +’s. But like I said at the beginning, I’m used to and have always been partial to Japanese sunscreens (who btw invented the PA rating system so naturally they have 4 +’s LOL!).

Would I repurchase? Even if this wasn’t sent for me to try, I think I would have eventually gotten around to purchasing it (once I’ve finished those in my stash that are opened) because I think the skincare benefits are great compared the ones I’ve tried such as Biore, Anessa — which I love but is expensive!, Kose, Missha, and Innisfree. Aaaaaand also because it’s BOTH a chemical and physical sunscreen! I cannot tell you how many hours I spent reading up (and google translating) sunscreen ingredients lists looking for one that had both but at the same time was good for my oily, acne prone skin. So yes, I will definitely repurchase.

 

2 thoughts on “Benton Papaya D-Suncream

Leave a Reply

