Herbivore Blue Tansy Resurfacing Clarity Mask

Herbivore products have always been on my wishlist. They’re one of the ultimate millenial brands that are so hyped up (and come in the prettiest minimalist packaging) but do their products actually deliver?

Herbivore_0115170331_W-crop

source: herbivorebotanicals.com

One day I was cleaning my drawer and saw that I had extra SGD and since a friend of mine was going to Singapore, I asked if HE (yep, only a good guy friend would venture into Sephora for you) could get me one and he diiiiiiid! So when I got it, I immediately took my photos then slathered it all over my face.

Ingredients

Blue Tansy. What is it? According to MindBodyGreen.com:

Blue tansy is a flower in the chamomile family. Its bold hue comes from oil extracted from the flower itself. As striking as pure blue tansy oil is, it’s well-known and respected in the natural skin care space as a calming anti-inflammatory.

Blue Tansy is naturally high in Azulene, which in addition to giving the oil its beautiful blue color works as a powerful anti-inflammatory to reduce appearance of redness and soothe irritated skin.

Other than Blue Tansy of course, this wash off mask contains other key ingredients such as:

  • White Willow Bark: A natural beta hydroxy (BHA), it is high in salicylic acid which works by gently shedding the top layer of skin in order to decongest and unclog pores.
  • Fruit Enzymes: Natural alpha hydroxy acids (AHAs), including papaya and pineapple, work to gently exfoliate and rid skin of dead cells to leave the complexion smoother, softer, and fresher.
  • Aloe Leaf: Naturally contains salicylic acid and works to gently unclog pores and soothe the complexion.

It also has salicylic acid, more popularly known in the AB Community as BHA. It’s one of my favorite acids because it’s oil soluble meaning it penetrates and works from underneath your skin. I keep remembering my dermatologist telling me to use salicylic acid because it’s keratolytic. Kerato-what? Keratolytic products are those that soften and exfoliate the top layer of your skin. So BHAs aid in removing and loosening skin cells that have stuck together (and clogged your pores creating blackheads and whiteheads) and helps dissolve these blackheads.

Packaging

LRM_EXPORT_20180528_134441

Very millenial right? Sleek, simple, and minimalist. So pretty. It comes in a white box with a hint of blue and the text on both the box and jar have a very modern typeface.

LRM_EXPORT_20180528_134445

The little card it came with also had directions and tips on how to get the most out of this mask. I follow it up with my own face mist, the Pyunkangyul mist toner coz I don’t want it to go to waste then follow it up with a hydrating serum. If I’m in an airconditioned room, then I add another cream to keep my face moisturized.

Thoughts

Out of Herbivore’s Blue Tansy line, I first got my hands on their facial oil and this followed. But with all products I have lined up for review, I was able to use this mask first because you only use it 2-3 times a week. It’s not a full on commitment (at least that’s what I thought) unlike say incorporating a serum or cream which you use everyday. But I still managed to use up about half of the jar before I decided to sit down and put my thoughts on print.

The mask is runny and has a thin gel type consistency so you just need a thin layer for your face.

LRM_EXPORT_20180528_134433

It has a minty and herby scent which I find to be relaxing. I dunno if I’m the only one out there who is comforted by this smell but I love it (this and the Sulwhasoo overnight mask!).

After about 2 minutes of applying this, you will feel your face start to cool. I think I went through this jar pretty quickly (been using it for a month today) because at one point I was applying a thicker than recommended layer because of my obsession with it. But now that it’s halfway, I’m trying to hold back coz it’s still not in stock at Sephora (PH site). I do remember though that when I first applied it, I could feel my skin tingling but nothing painful or anything.

3

I first used this everyday for 3 days then about twice a week afterwards. HB recommends that when you wash off this mask, you use a damp towel for easier removal and to remove dead skin cells that have come loose. Of course the first time I used this, I tried to just wash it off with water. And my face was just slippery. The mask was so hard to take off so I grabbed a face towel, wet it, and started wiping away at my face. THEN it came off. I now just use one of my makeup sponges (that I tried and didn’t like) to take off the mask.

I’m always greeted by smoother, calmer skin afterwards. Of course I wasn’t able to take before and after photos. But here is a photo comparison after 1 application to show immediate results.

18-05-28-13-27-12-213_deco

Please excuse my current skin status — it’s acting up. Plus that time of the month is around the corner hence the twins on my chin (the really dark dot is actually a scab because yes, I picked on it again). There used to be an entire family there btw. Anyway, I encircled 2 areas which to me showed a reduction in redness. This is after one use! I cannot wait to use this and follow it up with their Lapis oil!

So yes, I looove this mask but what do I not like about it? Other than the hefty price tag, the brightened skin results are temporary. But for me, the smoother skin results stay. Maybe because I’m somewhat consistent with my use of this (apparently I’m in a committed relationship with this one). As always, consistency is key but also that YMMV – your mileage may vary. What worked for me may not work for you and vice versa — what didn’t work for me might do your skin wonders.

If you want to try this out, I would suggest trying a sample size first if you can get your hands on one. Or split it with a friend who would also want to try it.

Would I repurchase? Yes definitely. Please restock already Sephora PH!

4 thoughts on “Herbivore Blue Tansy Resurfacing Clarity Mask

  1. Multibendybeauty says:

    This product looks so cool, I’ve actually never heard of the brand (not sure how I’ve missed it). Absolutely adore the packaging xx

    Like

Leave a comment